Defeated by Awesome.

I am not having the very best week. Things are uberhectic at ThePlaceThatShallNotBeDiscussed, I had a small unbloggable mini-crisis, and then I came down with The Plague a head and chest cold. It’s not all that unexpected, really – The Plague has been making its rounds and several people at ThePlaceThatShallNotBeDiscussed have already had it. It’s four days of misery, compounded by sleeplessness and an extra helping of not being able to breathe for those of us who are so asthmatically inclined.

But! My point is that I happened to mention all of this to my sister yesterday morning just when I started to feel the full effects of The Plague. Our convo went something like

Me: Whine, whine, whiney, blah blatherton.
Kim: There are [Hostess] Chocolate Cupp-cakes hidden in your tornado closet in the back of the L-shape to the right, between a box and the wall.

Peeps, I literally got all teary eyed. I had hidden treasure in the guise of Chocolate Cuppa-cakes waiting for me if I could just make it through the day! That is love, yo.

Well, I didn’t make it through the day. I went home early because, well, no one wanted to catch what I had. That and the fact that I at least moved every project I was working on off my desk and to the next person for approval. Turns out going home for a nap and stronger drugs is quite the motivator. Also – cuppa-cakes! So I came home, swallowed some pretty, pretty Dayquil and Mucinex, and headed into the closet.

Uh….I couldn’t find the cuppa-cakes.

I checked behind (almost) all the boxes. Of course, I was pretty fuzzy-headed and the body-aches pretty much dulled most of my energy, so maybe I didn’t check quite as hard as I needed to. But still – thwarted by the awesomeness of pre-hidden treasure for crappy days. Not to worry – I am home again with The Plague today and even though I could barely get the kids out the door to school, I will somehow get the closet straightened and Find. My. Cuppacakes.

Even if it’s the last thing I do before I die of The Plague.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Defeated by Awesome.”

  1. burghbaby Says:

    The fact that your sister hides food for you in your house makes her the most awesomest sister of all time. True story.

  2. Kathy Says:

    Yep – your sister is awesome! We should all have someone like that.
    Hope you are feeling better soon. Sleep well.

  3. Kim Says:

    I should send you a treasure map…

    But that would take *days* – and you sound like you might need them more NOW-ish than not. So. They’re on the floor against the wall of the closet that’s shared with the master bath (not the wc), parallel to the door into the closet. There’s a gap between whatever boxes are in that corner and the wall…

  4. Mrs. E Says:

    Get better soon. I’m sure the chocolate will help!

Leave a Reply

