This is starting to be a daily adventure.

When Bee started her kindergarten adventure, one of the things I was most looking forward to was discovering new little quirks. So much of Gracie’s personality unfolded as she put into new situations and given a new level of independence; I was anticipating finding out lots about my Bee-girl that I never knew was percolating under the surface.

Perhaps I should have been a little more leery of all the “fun” that was laid out at my feet. One of Bee’s quirks – she brings home allll of her uneaten snacks. See, the first day of school Bee told me she didn’t have time to eat all of her snacks, and yet, her lunchbox was empty. So I told her that she was allowed to bring home her uneaten snacks – at least, the ones that were unopened. Perhaps I should have stressed that unopened part a bit more because I started seeing opened cheese doodles, half-eaten granola bars, half a cheese stick… I thought I put a stop to it when I explained very patiently to Bee that bringing home an apple with just a bite or six taken out of it means that her lunchbox gets all stick and that is really kinda gross. “Okay, Mommy!” I heard. Heaven knows what she heard because I’ve gotten back three such apples since our talk.

But nothing prepared me for yesterday.

This week is spirit week at school. And apparently, at lunch yesterday all of the children were given Hoodsie cups of ice cream. (Gracie adored the funky little double-ended wooden spoon. She has demanded we buy some.) Except Bee didn’t want her ice cream.

My crappy cell phone picture doesn’t do it justice – the cuppa ice cream is empty, the lunch box was a sticky, sodden mess. Who knows how much sugar has leached into the foam. I’m going to have to experiment and find out how machine washable the thing is (or at least soak it in a sink full of soapy dishwater).

Jaws has nothing on this kid. I’m not scared to go back into the water – I’m scared to unzip her backpack.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “This is starting to be a daily adventure.”

  1. burghbaby Says:

    The sink full of soapy water will mostly work. You don’t want to know why I know that.

  2. Kathy Says:

    Go with the sink full of soapy water. 🙂 I fear this habit will never change – my 7th grader still doesn’t put her trash in the trash can at school. It is easier to shove everything back into her lunch box.

  3. Agent Torklepants Says:

    Shaynie B did this! Remember?! You should email Auntie Cheryl =0]

  4. Lydia Says:

    even worse my kid’s school insists on putting everything back into the lunch bag – half eaten sandwiches, empty sticky yogurt pots, squishy grapes – so the parents ‘can see what the child has/has not eaten’… even a note didn’t work. Just had to trash the last one as it was growing interesting mould!

  5. Busted. | Can't Get There From Here Says:

    […] and realize that things could be much worse. Still, it made me miss the days when I would find ice cream in their backpacks instead of lipsticks. My babies are growing up…and it just might kill […]

Leave a Reply

