Guess I’ll go be a grown-up now.

I don’t think I did a single productive thing this week. Well, besides mother two small peoples and keep them from running away with the circus or into traffic or any of that usual stuff. And those nasty rumors of grocery shopping and washing four loads of laundry are unfortunately all too true. But other than that, I don’t think I did a single grown-upish thing all weekend.

I had plans to. I had plans to be all social and productive and stuff. But then Thing One – she who is never, ever sick (except for her asthma and allergies, natch) – turned into the Drippy PukeMonster on Friday night. So there went our Pankcake Party, swirling down the drain. In fact, we couldn’t really stray that far from the bathroom and laundry facilities.

And so we danced. We danced, danced, danced, danced. And now my poor wiimuscles are all kinds of wiibroken. We won’t even begin to get into the kind of revenge my kidney scone is wreaking. All Friday night and most of Saturday, we spent jamming in front of Just Dance, with Gracie and I having a little side competition to see who could trick Bee into thinking she had the high score. Heh. But I can’t make fun of Bee too much – she did, after all, turn me on to the fabulously wonderful Russian dancing in Ra-Ra-Rasputin, a song I must’ve danced to a dozen times in a row. (Curse my wiimote – I can’t break 9800!)

Even my sisters got into the act. Well, mostly they taunted from the bleachers, but there is a question hanging over our heads of whether we can hold a dance-off over the interwebz a la online gaming. We shall see. But! I was telling you about how my sister started the madness. Kim bought a wii with her tax return money immediately after being addicted to crack Just Dance when she visited a few weeks ago. As soon as she started playing, I started getting emails about which songs she had broken 10,000 points on and “beaten.” Fatboy Slim fell first. The she conquered Reggaeton and Wham! Then Rhianyn got into the act, with an unfortunate crack about mastering George Michael. (Well played.) So, see? I had to jump into the melee or they would all beat me! I couldn’t let anyone beat me! It was all I could do not to skip work…er, I mean, come down with a nasty virus…just so I could hang at home for a day.

And that is why I couldn’t raise my arms above my head Friday night or Saturday, and why today I have a giant knot on the muscles in my shoulders and radiating down over my scapulas. I haven’t been able to work out since my kidney scone started protesting so loudly way back in November, so I am a wee bit out of shape. And boy do I feel it.

It’s a good thing I am going back to being a grown-up instead of turning on the wii every time I wasn’t feeding or bathing or otherwise neglecting the children. I have a feeling my muscles (or kidney scone) would soon stage a coup and someone would find me twisted into a knot on the living room floor, unable to reach the wiimote to switch the song from Tik Tok before my ears started bleeding. Yes, I’m definitely starting to see the upside of this Grownup Thing.

2 Responses to “Guess I’ll go be a grown-up now.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    My kids want Just Dance. If you enjoy it that much I just might have to break down and buy it.

    Hope everyone is feeling better and your wiimuscles recover soon.

  2. Mary Says:

    Look at it this way: While some grownups were at the gym working out, you got your workout at home, being a cool mom with your girls! 😀

Leave a Reply

