Enough chocolate to last until the apocalypse.

Except for the fact that I was looking forward to a lovely three-day weekend, I kept forgetting about the fact that Easter was this past weekend. That’s what happens when you haven’t had your kids on Easter weekend in years, I suppose. But! It’s all good! Because the Easter Bunny leaves their Easter baskets stuffed to brim on the kitchen table, waiting for them.

Esater1
Having figured out How Things Work with the man (er…woman) behind the curtain, Gracie was a little upset that she wasn’t going to be here to help fill the baskets. I let her pick out her own book to soothe ruffled feathers. (The Easter Bunny always brings the book you wanted anyway, but I didn’t remind her of that fact.) She did take full advantage of the “any book” bit, though – the twerp went straight for the $20 weird fact books that she’s so big on right now, and that mama usually says no to buying because you can learn that stuff online, ya know? Luckily, the Easter Bunny is a lot nicer than I am. Bee got a really cute Ramona-themed all-about-me guided journal. And I got Lauren Oliver’s new book Panic. Yes, even I got a basket from the bunny this year!

I wasn’t kidding about everything working out this year: the girls spent the night on Friday night, even though it was their dad’s weekend, because he had shoulder surgery and I offered to keep them so he and Stepmom wouldn’t be worried about discharge times or how his first night went. It wasn’t entirely selfish – that meant we could take our time coloring eggs! The weather was gorgeous – 80° and sunny – so we spent the night out on the patio. It’s amazing how much more laid back coloring eggs can be when I’m not worried about a mugful of egg dye ended up on the carpet!

Easter
Just before the girls got home, I snuck into the front room and hid a dozen eggs, color-coded for each girlie. I told them that the Easter Bunny had left a basket full of eggs on the table so that Fen wouldn’t eat them, but I decided to hide them. And you know what? Watching two older kids look for those really well-hidden eggs is just as fun as watching two wee little ones who are at the height of still believing!

Easter4 Easter3

It only had to give a good hint or two, and the girls were tickled about finding each and every one. I love that my girls know how not to grow up. Who needs Never-Never Land when you have Casa de Katie, right? What a great night!

As the girls chowed down on some chocolate and jelly beans, I read another chapter of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince and then we watched a bit of E.T. We maybe stayed up a bit late, and maybe I ended up paying for it in tears and tantrums this morning, but it was worth it.

Hope everyone’s Easter was as chocolatey and wonderful as ours!

 

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Enough chocolate to last until the apocalypse.”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Sounds perfect! Happy Easter!

  2. Kim Says:

    …but is it as fun as watching Shayne’s puppup hunt for Easter candy? Maybe sorta close ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

