I can’t lift my arm above my head.

I must confess: I am making myself sit down and write this post. I don’t really want to be writing right now. My new love has stolen all other joys away from me; I didn’t want to sleep last night, I didn’t want to drink coffee this afternoon, I didn’t want to work out, and I don’t want to write.

Damn you, Wii.

Yes, we got a Wii. Technically, I suppose the Wii belongs to the girls, but – meh, details. They have to do silly things like go to sleep and go to church with their grandparents. Not me. I had one itty, bitty little brunch and then I played with that sucker until my arm felt like falling off. But I’m getting a little bit ahead of myself. If I’m going to write, I’m going to tell the story the right way.

I recently got a very, very good deal on a Wii thanks to Mir over at Want Not. Seriously – the Wii was marked down to $199 and I got a free controller, a free motion doohickey, and a free $50 game. So I picked one up to stash away until Christmas. And lo, I was very, very sad because once I bought it, I wanted to play with it. So my IO asked me if he could buy it from me to give to the girls as a joint birthday gift. And I said yes because then I could play with it and not feel guilty about all the secret-play time I would have logged by the time we connected it in December.

So we put together the Wii on Friday night and the four of us figured out a few games. On Saturday I unlocked the 100-pin bowling game and Bee learned how to be a world-champion airplane crasher. On Saturday night I figured out how to download the original Super Mario Brothers and I stayed up until the wee hours of the morning trying to remember all the cheats and tricks. (How is it that after 20-some-odd years I can remember where all the hidden coin boxes are but nothing else?!) That night I went to bed with a newly forming blister that throbbed so badly it took me awhile to fall asleep.

And then there was Sunday. Sunday when I played 100-pin bowling for two straight hours trying to beat the high score. (Um…which would be mine. Riiiight.) Which explains why I can’t lift my right arm above my head and why I have rug burn on the top of my right foot (What?! I bowl better if I trail my foot behind me when I release.) I considered calling in to work today, but I don’t know if I can’t take any more injuries. Also, my co-worker is leaving early and my boss probably doesn’t want to fill in for us.

It was a fun weekend – especially when Gracie answered the phone and told my sister she had answered because I was about to die. That was  a little easier than explaining to Jillian this morning during my 30-day Shred workout why I couldn’t do a push up because I spent the weekend bowling. It is not pretty when someone on a DVD makes you cry. It is ALL that stupid Wii’s fault!

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “I can’t lift my arm above my head.”

  1. Mary Says:

    Not just a little competitive, are we? :D
    The Wii is The Bomb! I about killed my kids when I found out they had sold it for something else! Guess I need to buy my own…

  2. bluzdude Says:

    I learned a great lesson the first time I experiences the joys of Wii…

    USE BOTH HANDS!

    A couple Christmases ago, I went to my sister’s, and so did our parents. They had a new Wii and we had a great family Wii bowling tournament over the weekend. By Monday, my right shoulder and left butt-cheek were killing me.

    So when I got my own Wii, I set up a character soley for playing left handed. So now, at least if I get sore, it will be balanced. Or else I’d end up with one giant monster arm and one withered little T-Rex arm. And every time I sit, I’d list to the right.

  3. Burgh Baby Says:

    I think I’m the only person in the history of the Wii to not get addicted. I seriously just can’t hang out and play it. Obviously, I’m weird.

  4. Kathy Says:

    I find this so funny. . .

    I like our Wii, but I get so addicted to the thing that I really try to limit my playing. My favorite, by far, is Wii Fit. Get one of those, then your ribs can hurt along with your arm. That hula-hoop game is a ton of fun if you ask me.

    Happy Birthday girls – it is nice of you to share with your mom.

  5. Gayle Says:

    I’m with Burgh Baby, we got a Wii for my youngest son for Christmas this past year and none of us got into it. It just sits there unused. Maybe I should get the Wii Fit to try out.

  6. Agent torklepants Says:

    I don’t know what was worse Gracie telling me you were about to die or hearing you say “I WIIIIIN!!!!!!!!” and later finding out that you were playing Bee…the 4 year old lmao

  7. Madame Queen Says:

    She’s hooked, she’s hooked, her brain is cooked! (That’s what Mr. Daddy says to me whenever I get hooked on something new). I like playing my mom’s Wii, but I haven’t yet found the game that’s hooked me.

  8. Karyn Says:

    Um, you and your arm will probably hate me. Love me, then hate me, for saying this. but there is a game – it is a wonderful game. Boom Blox. Start with the first one, not the bash party yet. I could go into the physics based stephen spielberg made it whatever stuff, but it is awesome and my favorite favorite wii game. It’s like jenga and anti jenga and who cares if I’m losing, I’ll throw my bowling ball at the dancing monkey. =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

