The If Question with the vacation spot.

I am all about today’s If Question, folks. Who wouldn’t be interested in vacationing, especially when today is Friday, a day when our minds start wandering towards relaxation. I’m just going to pretend I haven’t been so busy this week that I haven’t had time to think of how to spell relaxation, never mind what I would do with it. In fact, let’s all take a nice, deep breath and go to our happy places for a little while as we think about this week’s If Question:

If you had to vacation in one spot for the rest of your life, where would you choose?

This is tough. I have two possible answers and I’m having a hard time choosing between them.

On one hand, I have Oahu. Beautiful, beautiful beaches. The weather is perfect. And there’s this vibe that nothing can go wrong (as long as you don’t try to drive across the island during rush hour, which lasts pretty much all day). I could read, really, really relax, and drink beer. And have I mentioned how breathtakingly GORGEOUS Hawaii is? No? I could totally force myself to endure eight-hour plane ride to vacation in Oahu. (Because obviously the magic power of the If Question is supplying all the funding.)

On the other hand, while Oahu is…well, pretty much perfect…have I mentioned the eight-hour plane rides I’d have to endure? So the other choice I’m considering is Weirs Beach, New Hampshire on the beautiful shores of Lake Winnipesaukee. I’m sure I’ve talked about it on the blog before, at least in passing. It’s where my family vacationed for several years while I was young. There’s a small sandy beach for the kids to play on, I don’t have to worry about anyone getting eaten by sharks, there’s the most wonderful boardwalk in all the world that has dozens of touristy shops with jewelry, tshirts, postcards and knick-knacks all on the cheap (but not chintzy). There’s plenty to do: bumper cars, arcades, water slides, miniature golf, go-karts, a train, boat rides, a doll museum, make-your-own sundaes… Oh and food. I might choose Weirs Beach on the food alone. Fried dough, ice cream, soft serve ice cream, french fries, cotton candy… you name it, they have it. And their weather isn’t too shabby either. We used to go the week before Labor Day. It was cool enough to need jeans and a sweatshirt in the morning. By noon, you were back in shorts and a t-shirt. What’s not to love about that?

It’s hard to pick between a couple’s paradise and a family’s ideal vacation spot. Ooh! Tamarack’s! With the world’s best clam strip sandwich! Weirs Beach wins. (Told you the food would win it!)

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “The If Question with the vacation spot.”

  1. Crisanna Says:

    My spot would be “next to Anthony Bourdain”. (Shutup – it’s not cheating because it *is* a spot!) That guy gets to go absolutely everywhere (even Laos!!) and truly experience the culture. Plus, I’d be cracking up the whole time at his snide remarks and near-drunken antics. Of course, I’d have to learn to say “I’m a vegetarian” in a bajillion languages in order to avoid snacking on intestines and the like in some of the more obscure places.

  2. Kim Says:

    Well now I’m torn between Weirs Beach being the obvious pick and picking the spot that’s right next to Crisanna as she’s in the spot that’s right “next to Anthony Bourdain.” I feel like that might be an even better spot that the one next to him, since I’d get the hysterical viewing pleasure of her cracking up at his antics, etc. Plus I’d only have to learn “ditto” in a bajillion languages after she figure out the whole communicating vegetarianism thing :-D

  3. agent torklepants Says:

    OMG CRISANNA! i watch mr.bourdain nearly every…well school day while i eat lunch and today HE WAS IN LAOS!!!! it was soo coool! i got to see some stuff my dad has talked about while he was overseas for vietnam and then there were the field of jars that no one knows about and the entire place has been untouched by touristy western civ. not to mention anthony bourdain is deff one of the coolest guys ever. so i choose ‘next to anthony bourdain” as well. & im a total carnivore so i will trade you my veggies =]

  4. CozyInn Blog » Blog Archive » Oahu versus Weirs Beach? Weirs Beach, of course! Says:

    [...] Just ran across this blog which posed the IF question with the vacation spot…http://cantgetthere.wordpress.com/2009/03/06/the-if-question-with-the-vacation-spot/ [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

